Lifestyle & Favs

The Best Night of My Life

“You think twice about your life 
It probably happens at night right? 
Fight it, take the pain, ignite it 
Tie a noose around your mind 
Loose enough to breathe fine
And tie it to a tree tell it 
You belong to me!
This ain’t a noose this is a leash and I have news for you you must obey me!

I got to sing those lines at the top of my lungs with hundreds of other people, and the man who wrote them the other night. I never in a thousand years would have thought that would be a thing to happen to me. I still can’t believe it happened to be honest. That whole night just felt so surreal.

The amount of energy that was buzzing through the room while waiting for them to come on stage was insane. Everyone was ready to lose their voice, dance ridiculously, probably cry, and just go crazy. And that’s pretty much exactly what happened.

IMG_7412

I can’t pick a favorite part because I loved every single second of it. The opening notes to each song had me squealing, or putting my hands over my mouth. It’s hard to not get excited when there’s literally not one song you don’t like. But I will say one of the many parts that gave me chills was when they first came on stage. The lights went out, the crowd went wild. Lights came on and there they were. Josh behind the drums and Tyler stood in front of his hanging mic. Then a deep voice started to sing a few lines from their song ‘Fairly Local’. The screams and shouts turned from chaos to one voice singing as loud as possible. There’s this one line that goes, “bulletproof in black like a funeral, the world around us is burning but we’re so cold, the few the proud and the emotional.” Well as soon as “we’re so cold” played the lights went out, and the voice stopped. But the crowd didn’t. “the few The Proud and THE EMOTIONAL” was how we sang it when we realized it was just us.

A lot of people are thrown by the fact that they’re just two guys, but seriously, their show is ah-mazing. Just a few things they did … Tyler showed up 15 feet away from us (we were in the back up at the top of the arena) in the middle of a song, and finished by singing it with us, Josh played the trumpet during their covers, Tyler climbed inside a hamster ball and rolled over everyone in the pit, Josh did the Titanic pose with a guy from the opening act’s band whilst Tyler sang ‘My Heart Will Go On’, and to end the whole night, they had two platforms with a drum on each held up by the people in the pit, they climbed on, and they beat the drums to their song ‘Trees’ and every time they did confetti and smoke came shooting over the crowd.

It was INSANE.

IMG_7410

But besides all that, the music. THE MUSIC. See, the thing about Twenty One Pilots is that they talk about real stuff. They talk about dark stuff, stuff no one likes to admit they think about, let alone sing about. But they do it. And there’s so many people out there who hear it and may think it has a cool beat or something, but once you actually listen to the lyrics it hits hard. So many times I’ve listened to one of their songs and heard a line that describes feelings I can’t put into words. But that’s the thing. They don’t just do it to a happy carefree sounding beat, they actually make it into a battle cry.

Another moment that gave me chills and almost brought me to tears because it was just so freakin powerful, was during ‘Guns for Hands’. Now this was the first song of theirs I heard a few years ago, and it’s always been one of my favorites. The chorus is basically Tyler saying how he finds it hard to sleep at night when he knows we all have “guns for hands” aka we have weapons we can use on ourselves. He continues to say that he would rather us shoot at him then ourselves and “simply suggest my chest and this confused music, it’s obviously best for them to turn their guns to a fist.” Now singing this song live was emotional enough, but when it came to this line, Tyler held up his free hand and shaped it into a gun. We all held up our hands as guns too, and in time with the lyrics we all turned them to a fist. Josh kept playing the drums and we just held our fists up. One of the best moments hands down.

As soon as we started singing every fear, every doubt, every worry just disappeared. It was like nothing else mattered except the fact that we were singing these songs that had saved lives, kept us going, and given us so much courage. I’ll never ever ever be able to forget that night, and I’ve already started saving money for tickets next time they go on tour. There’s nothing that can ever compare to the feeling that was in that room that night. I had my bestest friends with me, I had my heroes on the stage, and hundreds of strangers who were all there for the same reason, to shout the lyrics, to shed a few tears, to dance, to jump, to laugh, and to just let everything else fade into the background for a few wonderfully perfect hours.

6f1fe5a4f084f4a4776df71c41d84916

Dear Tyler and Josh,
Thank you for the best night of my life
Thank you for the music that gets us through each and every day
Thank you for letting us scream about our problems
Thank you for making ‘We’re broken people’ an anthem
Thank you for allowing us to experience this
Thank you for sharing your insecurities and your thoughts with us
Thank you for giving us all you had
And thank you for letting us know we aren’t the only ones waging those wars
Stay street
|-/
Leave a Reply

