Life

Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015

2014 is over.

Usually I’m sad when a year is up, and it’s time for the next one to start, I don’t know why. But as I grow older I realize that I don’t get to choked up anymore. Honestly, I’m just dreading how many times I’m going to have to erase the ‘4’ in 2014 and replace it with a ‘5’ on all my homework this next semester.

I’m excited for the new year to start though. New beginnings are always something to look forward to, something to plan for and make yourself ready to tackle all the “resolutions” you have in store for yourself. Though I really don’t end up making it through January without breaking at least a few of them.

But  I feel like 2014 has gone to fast. It didn’t feel like Christmas this year. It didn’t feel like Thanksgiving, and it didn’t even feel like Halloween. I mean, I enjoyed the holidays, the music, the food, the family, all of that. But it just didn’t have the holiday spirit. I was actually wondering what on earth could be wrong with me, why I was feeling this way, when I logged into Pinterest and saw this:

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 10.46.14 PM

My reaction was pretty much the same as that last comment.

Getting older can be is scary. There are some days I like it because I get more privileges, you’re able to do things you couldn’t when you were 8 or 12 years old, and it’s fun. To get to be more like an adult.

But there are days I do not like it. Not one bit. More is expected of you, and sometimes you just want to tell the person that you’re only 16 and they’re asking to much, that you just want a blanket fort, some food and disney movies. I have way to many days like that to even count. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but I’m not ashamed. … Entirely.

School, Family, Social Activities, Driving, Job??, Moving, Packing, Selling, Deciding, Blog, and taking a picture every day for the whole year.

I’m overwhelmed. Incredibly overwhelmed. But I know I’m not alone in this. Never have been, never will.

-I have a whole family who is going through the same moving process as me.
-I have my friends who are always there for me, no matter how annoying and emotional I am. (Love you guys. <3)
-Heck, I even have friends I’ve never met face to face, yet they’re just like family to me. (Here’s to Caleb, Jay, Zach, Tessa, and all the rest of you elves. You’re the best. 🙂

So am I scared of growing up?          “Uh, heck yes.”
Am I scared of what 2015 has for me?          “Absolutely.”
Am I looking forward to the next year?         “Yes … and no.”
More importantly, am I ready for 2015?          “In no way, shape, or form.”

But in we go. An adventure is calling. A journey awaits. We all try to say no. We don’t want to leave our comfy spot. But in the end, you can’t resist. You have to get out there and take the risk. Just like Bilbo. 😉

I’m sorry if this post was all over the place, I hope you were able to get something out of it.
HAPPY NEW YEAR all of you amazing people.
Here’s to the awaiting adventures.
-Thought by Thought

Leave a Reply

